I’m White, And I Am A Minority.

Today, my glass is filled with ракия. Google it.

“How can somebody be racist against a white person? There was no oppression there.” This was a question posed to me awhile back  by one of my friends, whom with I disagree on almost all political positions. This question really shocked me, not because of the question itself, but because having been asked that question, I now understand the liberal mindset on racism. It is that “white” people are literally exempt from racial victimization. To them, there are minorities and only those people, federally classified as a minority, can be victims.

My family is Bulgarian. I am third generation. My family is also Native American. I am fifth generation. I won’t bore you with a long world history lesson, but Bulgaria was conquered and ruled by the Muslim Turks for about 500 years. They were enslaved, killed and tortured. Native Americans were driven out of their homeland, killed, robbed, stripped of their livelihood and given virtually nothing for any of it.

By any standard, that is oppression.

What is my point? We don’t live in a black and white world. There is no majority and minority. And honestly, I’m tired of society treating me like we do, like I am that majority and like I am guilty.

Why do we even have a federal classification for what makes a minority? There are less men than women in America. Why aren’t all men given minority rights? Brown-eyed people and green-eyed people are the minority, why don’t we get minority rights?

So I guess you might tell me that these people we call minorities are labeled that way because of their past experiences. Black people, Latinos, LGBT and all the others have all undergone some sort of oppression, some form of discrimination that required them to be protected by law.

I can understand that. Slavery was horrible. It was wrong on all accounts. Some of these groups have been denied rights or treated unfairly and have been cast out and segregated.

But could it be possible that the very policies and attitudes we have formed to stop these things from happening are precisely what is keeping these issues around?

I know, I know, I’m going out on a limb here accusing the liberal government of creating intention-based polices that have created unintended consequences. That never happens (see war on poverty, war on drugs, social security, etc.).

Affirmative action. Those two words have stirred controversy for years. Basically, we created a way for minorities to get a boost getting into schools and jobs. But is it possible that “majority” kids like myself are growing up in an era where we feel like we are paying for mistakes we didn’t make?

Why should I be working nearly full time between two jobs, paying full-(over)priced tuition, working hard to be accepted into certain programs each semester, building a mountain of debt and offering myself as a competitive employee while others get massive discounts and acceptance simply because they get to fill in a different answer for “race/ethnicity” on the census?

—On a completely unrelated side note, has anybody ever noticed that being a minority is totally dependent on skin color and not actual history? We call all black people “African-Americans”, but what about Jamaican-Americans? We’re literally falsifying ethnicities to increase a level of victimization. Oh well.—

But I get it, minorities don’t have it easy. They’re still discriminated against and seen as second-class, right? Actually I would dispute that.

The left can’t have two narratives running at once that contradict each other. But they do. And have since 2008.

I was watching a documentary series yesterday about the 2000s. It was an examination of all the historically significant events of the first decade of this century. Once thing particularly struck me during the obviously liberally-slanted analysis of events.

The election of President Obama of course made the list. And during some of the interviews, the very same people that make their living on pointing out the so-called social injustices that minorities face today were praising the fact that in 2008, with the election of our first “black” president, they finally felt as though Dr. King’s dream had become reality and that with a little hard work and vision, a black man could do anything in America.

One of the interviewees went so far as to say, “I voted for him simply for the fact he was a black guy running for president.” —In fact, in the 2008 election, Obama won the black vote 95-4 and then again 93-6 in 2012. I’m not a political scientist, but I do have a minor in the field and I can tell you 95 percent of people don’t agree on anything politically…ever. Let that sink in and tell me racism doesn’t exist both ways.—

Mind you, these are the exact same people who are on national television telling me about my white privilege. The same people who tell me a “black man can’t get ahead in this racist country.”

One of those statements has to be true. Either black men can finally conquer the dreams of their forefathers, or they’re still oppressed and enslaved systematically. And deep down I think Barack Obama, LeBron James, Tiger Woods, Will Smith, Ben Carson and Usher know which one is true.

But with coming generations, we have to ween ourselves off the social crutch we have given to some minorities and not others. Again, I am a minority. I am Bulgarian. I am Native American (If Elizabeth Warren is, I sure as hell am). I am not making these claims as a white, arian pure-blooded white guy. I have brown hair, brown eyes and tan skin. We are all some kind of minority. We have to accept that there is no real majority. That is when we will liberate ourselves from this constant tension we feel.

I’m proud of the progress we’ve made since the days of slavery and even since the days of segregation. Some of the laws we implemented were necessary for the times in which they where implemented. 

But at some point, we’re going to have to take off the training wheels and balance ourselves. Otherwise we will never learn to ride the bike of tolerance.

Bottoms up.

 

Leave a Reply

